Recipe Review: No such thing as a chocoholic’s diet

Guilty as charged. I am one of the leaders in the chocoholic’s anonymous club…if there is such a thing. I’m not prejudice. I like white. I like milk. I like dark. I like special dark. I like semi sweet, and I like bitter sweet when I’m baking.

It’s very seldom some one offers me chocolate and I have to turn it down. Now with that said, perhaps I may not be the most fit person, but damn it I’m happy. Hahaha.

As many celebrate the new year with resolutions, most often hoping to trim down in size, I’ve had the same resolution for the last three years. Three years a LONG time. I’ve done my research. I know what to eat, what not to eat, when to eat and when to just have a glass of water. This brings me to my review.

The dieter’s brownie muffin.

This recipe I found on beachbody.com. Ingredients:

  • 1 (15oz) can chickpeas (garbanzo beans), drained, rinsed
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3 Tbsp coconut oil, melted
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup dark chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350-degrees. Combine all ingredients, leaving chocolate chips for the end, into a blender and pulse until smooth. Makes 12 muffins.

I followed the directions and folded in the chocolate chips. Poured the batter into muffin tins and could smell what I could only compare to as wet canned cat food as I put it in the oven. Mind you the smell did not go away when heat was applied–gulp.

The Hubs was watching football so he fell subject to the role of taste tester. Smell still not great, but we took a bite anyways since we are adventurous eaters. Aaaaaand gross. Not just the taste either, the texture was spongy, grainy and wanting so bad to be moist. If you can imagine grinding up a bunch of almonds and for some reason they got soggy before tasting them, that is the best way to describe this muffin upon first bite.

It wasn’t sweet. It wasn’t really chocolatey. The only chocolate flavor from it was the chocolate chips, and duh, it’s chocolate so why wouldn’t it. Here’s how to fix it:

  • 1/2 can of garbanzo beans, drained, rinsed
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1/3 unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil, melted
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup dark chocolate chips
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1 ripe banana

Combine banana and beans into the blender and emulsify. You want a super smooth consistency here. The bananas will foam up. In a bowl, put your chocolate chips and melt them in the microwave (30 seconds should do the trick) and set them aside.

After you’ve achieved the foam stage, add remaining ingredients including the melted chocolate into the blender and pulse until it’s combined. Also makes 12 muffins.

Texture problem solved with the appropriate amount of sweetness considering it is a no fat, no sugar, low calorie chocolate “food.”

Ultimately the goal here is to have a chocolate fix option which assists you in reaching your goal…or at least doesn’t derail your attempts to reach them. Not all recipes make sense like this one, but having that true chocolate dedication, we will prevail!

Keeping on recipe testing. And if it smells like wet canned cat food, odds are you should pass.

Leave a Reply

