Recipe: Creamy Clam Chowder

Remember when my sister, Jennifer, and her three children came for a visit but ended up snowed in for a week? Well one of those days I had made creamy and delectable clam chowder, thought I would share the love…mostly because my sister is hounding me for the recipe.

This is very similar to most other recipes, I mean how many 1000’s of ways can you make it? This might be the best I’ve ever had..and I’ve eaten more than my fair share! I had taken a trip with my husband, our three children and our nanny two falls ago to New England to watch the leaves change colors. We had an amazing time! Of the most memorable points in our vacation I would have to say that the EATING was high up there! We ate the clam chowder at every restaurant we went to. Mind you, we were in New England for 10 days, minimum of two meals a day were eaten out…that’s a lot of chowder and worth every pound we gained, HA!

So here’s how I make mine. It’s simple, doesn’t take more than 30 minutes which in my book is a double thumbs up when cooking for so many littles.

You will need:

  • 12-18 oz minced clams and their juice  (3 cans)
  • 1 cup chopped onions
  • 1 cup sliced celery
  • 1 cup sliced carrot
  • 2 cups diced, peeled potato
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 quart half-and-half
  • 1 cup vegetable stock
  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 2 tbsp rice wine vinegar
  • 1 1/2 tsp each salt and pepper
  • 1 tsp dried Italian seasoning
  • 1 tsp chopped, dried parsley
  • 2 sprigs thyme (fresh or dried)

Melt your butter in a large stock pot and add all of your vegetables. Soften the potatoes etc but don’t cook to add color so keep an eye on it, about 8 minutes.IMG_3036

After sweating the veg add your flour to the mixture and stir for 2 minutes, heat on, to create a paste-like consistency. Here’s where you add the salt and pepper, parsley, thyme and Italian seasoning. Next you’ll add the juice from the clams, vegetable stock and vinegar, bring to a simmer. Cook about 5-10 minutes or until heated through, add the half-and-half and be sure to stir to avoid any lumping and of course add the clams. Bring soup back to a simmer and PRESTO!

Happiness in a bowl!

We like saltines or oyster crackers but its delicious just as is. Hope you enjoy as much as we do.

Yes, I forgot to take a completed photo, we were too excited to eat, hehe.

*Feature photo courtesy of homecooking.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

