Favorite part of Spring

Perhaps that title was a bit ambitious. I mean, come on, can you narrow all of the wonderful Spring time joy into one single thing? I know I cannot. I can however tell you one of my favorites: berries!

Yes, you can get berries most any time of year but when they really taste the best is Spring. Could be the sweet smell, juicy and tender little morsels mean summer and warmer temperatures are coming. But really, they’re just delicious.IMG_3411

I heard a line in the movie “Noah” with Russell Crowe when Noah’s father, played by Anthony Hopkins, had asked his grandson what his favorite thing was. His reply “Berries.” I understand this was to portray a time when eating leaves and twigs being norm and this is a movie, but the kid has got a point 😛

So now that spring has sprung or is springing, we get yummy berries and I plan to eat!

Here’s what we do:

  • 1/3 cup raspberries
  • 1/3 cup blackberries
  • 1/3 cup sliced strawberries
  • 1/3 blueberries ( I like mine frozen best)
  • 1/3 cup heavy cream
  • 1-2 tsp sugar, to taste

Combine all berries into the bowl and gently pour the cream over top, followed by a sprinkling of sugar. Consume immediately!

I have young children so I have to wait until they go to sleep. Otherwise they’ll eat my whole bowl! Little stinkers ha! This is how my daddy taught me to serve up berries, and his grandchildren are quickly finding them to be their favorite things as well. Cheers, dad.

Leave a Reply

