Recipes: Blueberry Smoothies

So by now you know blueberries are good for you. They help us in all sorts of ways but really aid in over-all health. With that said, lets snack!

I’d like to share a few smoothie recipes I’ve got in my arsenal:

Blueberry and yogurt smoothie

  • 1 c frozen blueberries
  • 1 c plain yogurt
  • 3/4 c low-fat milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/8th tsp nutmeg or cinnamon
  • 1/2 c ice

Combine all ingredients into a blender. Drink immediately for best texture. blueberry smoothie.jpg.838x0_q67_crop-smart

If you are a frothy drink lover, try this:

Blueberry Fluff smoothie

  • 1 c frozen blueberries
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1/2 c almond milk
  • 1 c plain yogurt
  • 1 tsp honey (optional)

Combine all ingredients into  a blender and drink immediately.

Now these recipes are what I love and make often. I always have frozen blueberries on hand and bulk buy when in season. If you chose to bulk buy blueberries too, simply take then from the plastic pint container and empty into a zip locking bag. These little beauties will last up to six months in your freezer, well that is if they aren’t consumed 😉

I recently tried the Avocado and Blueberry Smoothie I had found online, recipe is as follows:

  • 1 c frozen blueberries
  • 1 c plain yogurt
  • 1/2 c almond milk
  • 1/2 c water
  • 1/4 avocado

Combine ingredients and blend well.

I wasn’t a fan, let me tell you. The color was off, sort of looked like dirty dish water. The smell wasn’t pleasant and the taste wasn’t on par either. I could really taste the avocado, which I typically LOVE, but with blueberries, not so much. I did end up using this concoction for my hair conditioning and it worked great! So there, haha a more expensive, not very fragrant hair conditioning tool right from your fridge!

Leave a Reply

