It was me, I did it!

I tried something new today. While I’d like to tell you it was about Blueberries, it doesn’t quite fit the bill, not for 24 hours at least.

Want to know what is?

I made ice cream!

Yes, me, Heather…made ICE CREAM!

Anyone who knows me knows that ice cream is my down fall. When ice cream is involved, I’ll pretty much do anything. However, I must also admit, I’m a picky ice cream indulger (like my new word, hehe). I don’t like sweet ice cream, I mean they are all somewhat sweet but that super sweet stuff like you find at Coldstone or Baskin Robbins…I am not trying to put those awesome wonderful companies down either. I’m just picky.

I can’t have it too sweet. Can’t be icy, either. It should be able to sit in my fridge for at least 4 days after being opened without getting those pesky crystals on the top.

And it can’t have too many toppings or fillings. So perhaps I’m a purest in this sense.

I like plain ol’ Vanilla Bean (MUST have the beans!) with maybe a little chocolate sauce or berries.

Enough about me already…lets get to the good stuff!

Recipe is as follows:

  • 2 cups Heavy Whipping Cream
  • 1  14 ounce can Sweetened Condensed Milk
  • 1 Vanilla pod (optional)

You read that correctly, two main ingredients in this ice cream!

In your electric mixer, whip the heavy cream to form stiff peaks. Once you have peaks, should take about 4-5 minutes, on lowest setting drizzle in the condensed milk. Add vanilla seeds from pod and viola! That’s it. Well, other than freezing.

Obviously you can make it your own by adding whatever it is your heart desires. Today, the hubs was craving caramel so I drizzled a little into my mixture prior to freezing. Heck, you can throw some blueberries in top when its ready for eating hahaha, I had to, I hope you understand. Or better yet, put 1/2 blueberries into the food processor or blender, creating a puree, combine with ice cream mixture and then freeze, I bet that would be wonderful! OHH, blueberries and pineapple! I think I’d better set out a good workout schedule since obviously I will be making more than my share of ice cream this summer 😉

Freezing: put mixture into an air tight container, maybe even add plastic wrap to the top to avoid air and ice crystals. Put into freezer for 6 hours.

HA!

 

Now I just made it so it wont be ready until tonight, after the kids are in bed, muahaha! But I will tell you how awesomely fantastic it is tomorrow on my facebook page. In case you aren’t following me there, come check me out! http://www.facebook.com/chompbychefheather

IMG_3415 (1)
Shhhh! 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

