Quick Chicken Tacos

Hi ya’ll! It’s been busy busy busy here lately. And while the holidays have passed, we’re still running around for some reason. My husband’s close friend, Tony, is here visiting from Switzerland for a little while, and his daughter who is also from Switzerland, and his mother from Alaska- so our house is full and loud and I wouldn’t want it any other way.

With so many people running in all directions and different schedules, it’s difficult to meal plan, at least for me. I’m the cook. The chef. The one who has been assigned meals. Ok, what do I prepare at 5p on a Thursday night, while the Christmas things are being packed away? CHICKEN!

I have frozen chicken! Ok, protein is accomplished. Now what about a veg? Umm, apparently I forgot to go grocery shopping….but we have cheese! Tacos it is =)

I threw the frozen chicken tenders into a big stock pot, we have 8 people eating dinner so I cooked 2 lbs. Added 1 cup of water, temperature doesn’t matter as it will help steam the chicken. Sprinkled in one packet of taco seasoning, 2 tbsp fajita seasoning and a few dashes of crushed red pepper flakes. Put the lid on and cook for 20 minutes, or until the chicken was firm.

Only turn chicken once about 12 minutes in. Why, you ask? Proteins get finicky and while they’re cooked they firm up. That means they lose juices. Juices are flavor, don’t want to lose those. Turn a minimum amount of times to seal the juices in and allow for tastier proteins.

Once the chicken was completed, I cut it up and threw it back into the stock pot to soak-up the “left-behind” juices. While I may be a cook/chef/preparer of food, I do not make my own taco shells, at least not while trying to cook for so many and quickly. Prepare the taco shells, that really only consists of taking them out of the bag, haha! Shred the cheese. Grabbed the guacamole (recipe below) and sour cream. Viola! TIME TO EAT!

12931167_10153953924050199_3071023400674148621_nIt took me 22 minutes to pull these together and they were delicious. Perfectly tender chicken, flavorful and with a kick. They were so good, my son who is 3 ate two! Nothing fancy however it really turned out well. I hope you enjoy them as much as we did last night.

guacamole-vertical-b-1600
Photo courtesy of Simply Recipes

Guacamole recipe

  • 3 ripe avocados- that means firm yet supple, not squishy
  • 1/3 c chopped red onion
  • 1/2 c chopped tomato
  • 2 tbsp chopped cilantro
  • 1 lime
  • 2 tsp finely chopped jalapeno
  • 1 tsp garlic salt

Using the meat of your avocado, the green stuff, smash the goodness into a bowl using a fork. I like mine a little chunky but you can smash until your heart is happy. Squeeze the lime over the avocado and fold together. Combine all remaining ingredients. Taste it and adjust to what you like. I sometimes add salsa, more salt, crushed red pepper, cheese, you options are only limited to what you enjoy eating.

Enjoy you wonderful people!! And Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

